Delivered by FeedBurner

20
DEC

How to Erase All Media Content From Your Zune Player

Posted by Stephane Dion

Zune-sharingWhat you do with your Zune is your business! But if you have to return it to Wal-Mart or if you are planning to sell it, don’t forget to erase all content from it!

You have two options for erasing all content from your Zune player. You can do it through the Zune software or you can directly erase the content of your Zune from the Zune controls.

Erase the content of your Zune with the Zune software

First, this tip will teach you how to erase all content from your Zune device with the use of your computer. Be careful! When erasing the hard-drive of the Zune, all audio, videos, and pictures that are stored on the Zune device will be gone and no rollback is possible.

To erase all content from your Zune device using the Zune software, carefully follow these few steps:

 

1. Start Zune Software on the computer.

2. Connect your Zune device by using the sync cable.

3. Give the Zune device time to synchronize or manually stop the synchronizing process. To stop, go to “Options menu”, select “Sync”, point to your device name, and click “Stop Sync”.

4. Go to “Options” menu, select “Sync”, point to your device name, and then click “Erase Zune Device”.

5. At this point you receive the following message: “Erasing your Zune device library will remove all songs, videos, and pictures. Are you sure you want to continue?”

6. Click OK.

7. Erasing may take several minutes. Do not move or disconnect your device. You receive the following message: Zune device library erased.

8. Click OK.

The only thing that will still be on your Zune hard-drive is the last selected background. This procedure will not remove it. This will be part of another Zune Tip

Erase the content of your Zune without the Zune software

This part will show you how to erase the content from a Zune device “without” using a computer

You can erase in one shoot the content from your Zune mp3 player without connecting your Zune to your computer or using the Zune software. If you don’t have access to a computer, this method can be very useful. But be careful, you will not get any warning or confirmation message from the Zune player. There is also no rollback possibility.

To erase the Zune player hard-drive, follow those easy steps:

1. Press and hold the Back button at the same time as you press the top of the Control Pad.

2. Immediately press and hold the Back button at the same time as you press the right side of the Control Pad and the OK button in the center of the Control Pad. Continue to hold these buttons until your Zune device restarts and you receive the following message:
“Clearing contents. Please wait.”

3. When the Home screen appears, the erase is complete, and you can again use the Zune device.

 


Comments

Pat  Holmes

Anyone having problems downloading from Marketplace?

Aussie Zune

Now why would you want to do that? lol

Annie

When you delete all the content, does it also delete the zune 'gems'?

Andrew

It wont delete if I do it from the software nor the zune itself. I got the 2 year warranty for it but I kinda want to see if I can fix it.
I guess not oor can somebody help me.

Andrew

It wont delete if I do it from the software nor the zune itself. I got the 2 year warranty for it but I kinda want to see if I can fix it.
I guess not oor can somebody help me.

mike

how i do erase one picture in the zune device, i dont want erase all content only a few pictures o songs?

Jacob

will the Hard Drive make noise? mine did, but then stopped and didnt make noise again, but then it ran out of battery. So I plugged into the computer, and it started to make noise and stopped again. any ideas?

jim kobs

How do I remove songs from my 4gb Zune that I don't want

The comments to this entry are closed.